2 questions

Hello!

I am new to the page and not too sure where this should go, but I need a bit of advice. I have a masters in Social Work and went beck last semester to start my prerequs for MD and DO schools. I got an A- in a gen chem lab, all other grades were A’s so I’m not sure if I should fight the grade, as the course syllabus does not include a grading scale that includes +/- which university policy indicates it must if the instructor intends to use it. It’s a 1 credit class, and really does not have that big of an impact on my GPA so is it work making waves over?

Second question is about MCAT. Should I wait for the 2015 version or not. With time and practice I should be able to nail the current version, I scored a 20 on a practice test with only taking gen chem 1 and gen biol 1, Or do I wait for the 2015 version with the psych/soc portion that I will be able to nail being that I have a BA in psych and a Masters in Social Work, but the 2014 will have biochem which I haven’t had yet.

Any thoughts would be helpful.

Thanks,

James

It sounds like if you fight the grade, there could be a drop to a B (maybe an A- was the compromise.) That looks worse than an A-. Unless you’re 100% sure this wouldn’t happen, I wouldn’t really fight it. It’s still an A and it doesn’t affect your GPA too much.

If you’ll have the prof or lab TA again, you might want to ask why the A- and what’s necessary to get the A.

In terms of the MCAT, I’ll just say what I’m doing personally - I could squeeze in the very last test for the current version, but I’m not going to. If I need to take it again for some reason, I will have just screwed myself over because now there is a new section. So I’d look at timing, how you’d handle any possible retakes and above all don’t take the test until you’re ready for it - until you’re scoring a good 3-4 points in practice tests above what you want on the MCAT.