2 Schools for Req's ok?

Hello to my favorite group of overachievers!

I graduated with a B.S. '09.

I started pre-req’s last fall at a small school that was supposed to be cheap, but has a decent pre-health program. After 3 semesters, they have denyed my residency reclassification and it’s going to continue to cost me $5000 per class rather than $500.

At that price, I would prefer to be closer to my family (it would also be easier to study for the MCATS). Is it bad to start taking classes at one school and switch to another?

I got A’s in Bio I, Gen Chem and Genetics, and B+'s in Gen Chem II and Cell Bio. I am finishing Organic I here in Aug. So far, my GPA is 3.7. I was planning to take Anatomy & Phys I plus Orgo II in the fall, now I can’t afford it here.

What would I need to keep in mind if I abandoned this school and started up again at Rutgers (aside from finding a new lab to get research experience in)?

I started the process at one school and am finishing it up at another. My reason was because my wife got a job in another state and had to move. I think your reasons are justified for leaving the one, you might get asked about it, but as long as you explain it like you have I would think they couldn’t hold it against you.

How will you handle med-school applications?

Don’t you have to get one letter of recommendation from the pre-med committee at one school?

Neither school I attended had a pre-med committee, so I didn’t have to worry about that. I do have professors from both schools represented in my recommendation list.

As far as a committe goes maybe some folks with committees have some answers.