25 and need to hear the truth

Hello! I’ve come across this community not knowing who to talk to, but If you would kindly read further I’m in desperate need of guidance. I’ve decided that I’m going to make a career change into medicine, however I’m concerned that my academic history is going to hold me back. I’ll try to get straight to the point as possible and only include essential details.

A little background info… I graduated from a 4 year University in 2018 with a Bachelor’s Degree in Economics and a 2.9 GPA. To be honest I really had no idea why I was there at the time. I didn’t know what I wanted out of life, I didn’t know what my plan was, it was just the “next thing” after high school.

Since graduating in 2018 I’ve experienced a lot of self reflection. I’ve found more purpose in my life. I’ve decided what my values are, who I want to be, and what I want to do.

This now leads to my question. What can I do to put myself on a good path towards Medical School as a Nontraditional student? I was just accepted to a local 4 year University and I’ll be starting this August majoring in Biology (This will be my second undergraduate degree). To be honest, I’m EXTREMELY excited to go back to school and take it seriously and LEARN! However when I applied to this new school I also had to send in my previous college transcripts with my 2.9 GPA. I guess part of me just feels a little discouraged like my poor GPA will come back to haunt me. It would help to hear the truth though. If I bust my butt and earn straight A’s at this new school and earn a second Bachelor’s in Biology, would I have a shot at getting into Med school? (Given I score well on the MCAT and complete the shadowing/volunteer work of course)