25 years old, MA in clinical psych but no science classes!!

Hey everyone, so glad to have found this site! I have been reading several posts and it’s so interesting to see everyone’s background, the variety is great! A little about me: I am in my second year of my master’s program in clinical psych (I just started on my thesis:comparing young caregivers in their 20’s to traditional middle-aged caregivers). However, I have always been interested in medicine but never thought it was an attainable goal for me but I would love to try. I majored in psych and minored in sociology (GPA 3.68), but have only had one Gen. Bio, which I made a C in. I have never had a chemistry class, either. Would I be way out of my league when taking the prereqs? My first two years of undergrad (when I had bio) were a little shaky, I began making A’s in my JR. and SR. years and on into grad school.

Basically: UGPA-3.68

GGPA-3.71

BIO 101- C!!!

NO CHEM EVER!!

Practical experience so far: providing care for a severely disable parent (vent 24/7, level IV pressure sores, I do pretty much anything the nurses do)

Do I have a shot if I take the prereqs and do well on the MCAT?

My advice to you is what I did to prove to myself that I had the aptitude in science… at the very least take a solid Chemistry class and see if you can master it.

If you’ve never had Chemistry, it is worthwhile to take a Chem for non-majors just to make sure that you have all the concepts down pat. A lot of the science you will study is rooted in fundamental Chemistry–these days Biology and Physiology has a lot of molecular focus.

I personally think it would be worth it as well to take General Biology again. If you can get A’s in Bio and Chemistry, you stand a great chance to move forward. Everything builds from there.