28 year old female with spotty academic record

Hello! Thank you for reading this message. I hope you can handle one more “low grades” profile from yet another member. I have tried to seek help from pre-medical advisors all over the country but the majority of those I have contacted through phone and email have simply sent me a brief, generic email in response telling me “to go to a post-bacc program.” The problem is, I don’t qualify for post-bacc programs geared towards non-science majors and I also am not a candidate to pursue graduate coursework in the sciences with such an incomplete foundation in the basic sciences.

I graduated with a B.S in Anthropology in 2002 from UCLA. I left during my second year of undergraduate work and attended community college for two years before returning to UCLA. During my time at the CC, I received the following grades in these science classes:

Between Fall of 1999 and Spring of 2000:

General Chemistry I – Letter grade A

General Chemistry II – Letter grade B

Physics I – Letter grade B

Physics II – Letter Grade B

Calculus 2 – Letter Grade B

(On a side note, I took Calculus I right after high school at a different community college in 1997, garnering a C.)

When I returned to UCLA in 2001, I took four quarters of Life Science, which is the equivalent of two semesters of Biology. My Life Science grades at UCLA were:

Between Winter 2001 and Fall 2001:

Life Science 1 (Evolution, Ecology and Biodiversity ) – Letter Grade C+

Life Science 2 (Cells, Tissues, and Organs ) – Letter Grade C

Life Science 3 (Introduction to Molecular Biology ) – Letter Grade C-

Life Science 4 (Genetics) – Letter Grade D

And then I attempted the first quarter of Organic Chemistry two times at UCLA:

Spring - Summer 2002

(First attempt) Organic Chemistry 1 – Letter Grade F

(Second attempt) Organic Chemistry – Letter Grade C-