28 yr old engineer looking for advice

Hi all,

My name is Matt. I am seriously considering pre-med and would love to here some advice from those of you non-traditional students who have, or are in the process of embarking on this journey. Let me provide some background info, and then I have three big questions that have been on my mind recently.

I graduated with a BS in electrical engineering in 2003. I am 28 years old. Since I have gotten this bug, I have read multiple books about medschool/intern life (or lack thereof). I also started taking classes towards my post bacc.

I have made it through biology and A&P at a community college, putting forth a moderate effort for A&P and receiving high A’s in all these classes. I feel confident that I still have it in me to go back to school. I have always loved it.

My questions are:

1. Will my decade old physics and chemistry stil satisfy the application requirements? I was a tutor for physics and spent the last 7 years in a technical career.

2. My BSEE GPA is 3.38, not counting my postbacc work. Should I be worried?

3. I plan to take O-chem next. From reading forums, I am starting to be concerned about the stigma of community college. Should I transfer to a 4 year school for O-chem? And due to the <3.5 GPA, should I consider taking other relevant classes to buff up my application? I was thinking microbiology and biochem. Any other suggestions?

Thank you all, and I wish everyone the best of luck.

Matt,

It looks like I am on the same boat as you. I am a 32 yr old engineer and this semester I am taking Biology and 2 physics labs (all with high A’s). My GPA as undergraduate was 3.39, and 3.59 as graduate engineering. I am wondering some of the same things you are… Should I take additional courses other than minimum requirements to beef up my resume? If just take the basic requirements I could apply for 2012 admission, if I take additional courses that will delay me an extra year. Any advice is appreciated…