32 y/o just got my AA. Transferring to finish my bachelor

I will be 35 by the time I am applying to med school. I have a child and a wife who is starting Nurse Practitioner school now and should be done by the time I am ready to apply. In 2004 I was academically dismissed from FSU because I was basically a lazy fool. I transferred my credits to a community college in Miami and took Anatomy 1 with the lab and Intro to Chem. I got A’s in all three classes.

I am a different student than I used to be and know I can finish strong at FIU. Will my past haunt me or do I have a chance of getting into a medical school?

You’ve definitely got a chance to get in. If you can show an improvement in your academics and finish strong, then you’ve got a compelling story. Unfortunately, those old grades will still count as you’ll need to submit all your academic records to AMCAS or AACOMAS. It’s something you’ll likely be asked about, and will likely need to address in your personal statement.

Best of luck on your path, and let us know if we can help.

Thank you for the positive feedback.

By the time I apply I will have 2.5 years worth of clinical experience as an OR Tech Asst & Anesthesia Tech. Hopefully that will work in my favor as long as I can score a decent MCAT.