33y old mom/wife with spotty grades

Well, I really can’t believe that I’ve waited this long to decide to try to go to med. school, but hindsight is 20/20. I graduated with a bio degree in 97; was having fun with my friends most of the time…it shows with an overall 2.9 gpa. I’ve worked in pharma/surgical device sales for 10 years. Doing well financially with my job. Have a great husband and a 10 month old son. Things seem great, all but I hate my job. As the years passed, the thought of going to med school did cross my mind…just wasn’t settled with other aspects of my life to be serious about it then. Now I am. So, I’m planning on quitting my job in 3 weeks and scheduled to take the MCAT on Aug. 6th. Taking Kaplan and pretty much going to be treating studying as a job until test day. Been going over the info on and off over the last few months, so I think it’s possible to do well if I dedicate 3 solid months to it. However, because of my terrible gpa, can anyone let me know their thoughts on if a great mcat score can compensate for bad grades 10 years ago? One ass. dean of add. told me that because it had been so long, to take my mcat, do well and apply. They’d be looking more at my mcat and work exp. She also said to take a few classes to show I was in the academic mode again. Don’t want to have to take all my classes over again because of my age. Anyway, any advice would be much appreciated!

You are going to have to really do well on the MCAT (>30) but it’s not unheard of for someone with a 2.9 to get into med school. Be sure to look into DO schools as well as MD schools. Good luck.

33 is not old at all; lots of us including those who have already gotten into med school or are into residency programs are already in our 40s! Face it, you’re a young’un around here.