38 years young.

Let me begin with a little background. As the subject say I am 38 years young, father of two young sons, married but separated, and currently work 60 hours a week in a non-medical field. I have wanted to go to medical school now for eight years but was always discouraged by soon to be ex-wife. Now that we are separated and on the path to divorce my dream of med school is stronger than ever. I have discussed this with my wife recently and she replied, “PA school would be more for you, time is not on your side.” I tried to explain to her that I would feel like I settled if went to PA school but she doesn’t get it.

I graduated with a BBA and a GPA of 2.79, needless to say I was not a serious student. I can’t even remember ever studying. I want to go back Post-Bac and take the maths and

sciences but most of these undergraduate classes are offered in the day only. I have to work full time so only night or online classes would work for me. The only other option I see is taking a much less paying job at night and get private loans. How hard is it to be approved for private loans for Post-Bac course work and any suggestions on lending institutions?

Hi and welcome to OPM, you are among kindred spirits here. Regarding your question, I am not sure if there are going to be options for you regarding loans if you are not a full time student. But you can look into it.

Certainly it is better to start with government loans as they tend to have a lower interest rate than private bank loans.

Good luck

Working 60 hours plus attending classes plus attending to your relationship with your sons is going to be a challenge. Not necessarily undoable, but something to go into with your eyes wide open.