43 and I want to go back to school, Am I Nuts?

I think I may have temporarily lost my sanity. I have been a physical therapist since 1987. In 2003, I passed the hand therapy certification exam and then moved to the Philadelphia area. After only 1 year, I managed to be hired by one of the top hand surgeons in country and his two partners.

I grew up in Kentucky and quite frankly the idea of getting a medical school education when I went to school didn’t seem possible. Finances, time in school, not being able to live with my parents and a lack of self confidence in my younger years, etc.

Now I am surrounded by universities. My patients are sometimes doctors, college professors, and are so educated. I never thought of myself as brilliant, so I never thought I could be a doctor. Now I have a doctor asking me if I ever thought of going to med school. I have to admit I dreamed of it in junior high school, but gave up the idea and applied to physical therapy school instead.

I do have one advantage in that my husband is a chemist and says he can get me through organic chemistry. I have all the other prereq’s, but they are so old, I think I might at least take Chem 1 and 2 again and possibly Physics. I think I will need it to get a decent MCAT score.

By the time I complete the above process, I will probably be 45.

So my question is are there medical schools that would accept a 45 year old physical therapist?

Probably. They accepted a 43-year-old librarian.

Also, you’ll definitely need to re-take biology. A lot has changed in the last 20 years. But you can still do it! Can you come to our conference in June? You could fly from Phildelphia into O’Hare for as little as $160 if my hasty Travelocity search is any indication.

I attended a conference when I was first starting this process and it helped me SO MUCH!

Hey, I am 47 y/o financial and computer guy and I am trying. Just finished my pre-reqs but am going to miss this year’s application cycle.