A Bit of a Career Dilemma...

Well folks, I’m rapidly approaching the end of my post-bacc prereq work. I have one more semester to go, I take my MCATs in April, will finalize my applications in May, and mail them in June.

At that point, I’m going to need to find a job, sit back, and wait and see what happens.

The question is, what sort of job? I’ve heard it said many times that admissions committees look favorably on people who have worked in the field. I’ve volunteered in a hospital for a year, and both my parents were physicians so I’ve seen the field up close and personal. I just have never held a “paying” job doing it.

Currently, I’m a furloughed airline pilot, and I do have recall rights at the airline I worked for. Basically that means that when they start rehiring, they have to offer us our old positions back first (in a post 9-11 world, that should take about another 5-7 years).

So should I look for some sort of a job that would keep me in the air in something - corporate jet/flying rubber chickens for export in China/aviation gopher for a Sultan - so my skills wouldn’t rust away? Or should I bite the bullet and go get a CNA certification and go work in a hospital? If I get into medical school, the latter scenario has a happy ending. And, although I want to do everything I can to maximize the strength of my application - I don’t want to inadvertently trade my old career for one as a lifelong hospital gopher.

As they say, the devil is in the details.

Your thoughts?

You could look for a medical service flight job.
When I was a youngin’ (back in 1993), I was in a nasty-bad mt. bike wreck in Big Bend, Texas and had to be flown from Alpine to TTMC in Lubbock. I vaguely remember the flight (concussion, fractured ribs) and the pilot, but my husband got to sit up front and tells me that the flight was SMOOTH as could be.