A few questions

Hi,

I am interested in going to Med School for fall 2012. I am at present doing a postdoc in medicinal chemistry at University of Minnesota. I recently completed PhD in Biological Chemistry from Syracuse University. I am a permanent resident.

I am worried that I may not have all the pre-requisites needed to get into med school. I did my undergraduate BS and MS from India. My BS was in Chemistry but I did take a number of courses in Biology (Botany and Zoology). My masters was in chemistry with thesis.

Its been more than 7 years since I took all these courses and I am not sure IF they would be accepted.

Do you think I should redo all the pre-requisite courses? From my perspective, I have a sound background in Biology and Chemistry and have published several peer-reviewed papers. I have taught these courses at the undergrad level. Do you think I still need to take Biology 1 and 2 etc?

I have literally no background in college physics. But I have done biophysics and quantum mechanics! Both courses have significant math-calculus and derivations. How do I tackle this issue ?

Also, how many courses in liberal arts that are writing intensive that one should take?

I would be interested in your views.

Thanks

• Srika Said:

I am interested in going to Med School for fall 2012...I did my undergraduate BS and MS from India...From my perspective, I have a sound background in Biology and Chemistry and have published several peer-reviewed papers. I have taught these courses at the undergrad level. Do you think I still need to take Biology 1 and 2 etc?