A few things to discuss

Hi, I’m cdnstudent, a Canadian pre-med student in Canada. It is nice to meet you all, I thank the creators of this forum for setting up such a website.

I posted some questions over on SDN a few months ago and I received mostly snarky, arrogant responses. It seems that the majority of the crowd that patrol that forum are young, well-off kids who have had everything laid out for them before hand. Unfortunately that doesn’t happen for all of us!

I’m 27, going on 28. Currently, I am roughly halfway through a geography (MA) degree. I majored in Political Science and minored in my undergraduate BA. I did well, considering it was a Canadian school. 3.6 GPA and dean’s list distinction.

I’ve made up my mind that I am to be a GP. I don’t need to get into the discussion of why this is. Simply understand that having been through a number of events over the past ten years, I’ve decided that it is the best career path for me to take. My uncle is a GP, I was babysat at his clinic while growing up, but I never really cared much for what he did. If only I knew what I know now when I was seventeen years old!

Anyway, so here I am, posting this. I have very little science experience. I did two intro biology courses, ecology, and invertebrate evolution. I’m notoriously bad at math. It stems from being picked on during primary and high school while in my math classes. I have to take a foundation math course, approximately three semesters long, in order to qualify for the academic math course. Why do I need to do the academic math course? Because it is a prerequisite for physics. Apparently I need physics. And I need chemistry too.

My plan is to begin the foundation math and first year chemistry stuff in September when I’m writing my thesis. That way I would get head start on the premed stuff. I already have a lot of volunteer time clocked with trout unlimited.

I’m interested in hearing any comments and thoughts.

Nice to meet you all!