A Little Camaraderie

I know that I am not old at 27, however my premed journey really has just started. I just have my AA and I am in first semester as a Junior in Bio-medical Sciences. I am getting a late start because I married a soldier at 20 and spent 5 1/2 years as an Army wife “holding down the fort” while my husband deployed repeatedly. The thing is, I have always dreamed of becoming a Dr. but it always sounded like such a long journey when I was younger. Now that I am a little older I am realizing how fast time really flies. I am afraid that my choice to pursue a medical career will interfere with plans my husband I have to start a family in a few years or will prevent him from accomplishing his career goals. Right now he is very supportive, however he is currently in school as well; perhaps it could pose a greater issue in a couple of years. I suppose I am just looking for a little camaraderie from other non-conventional premed students, and I am open to any tips that have helped to cope with the stress along the way.

Also, out of curiosity… What are some of the undergraduate majors you have chosen? I sometimes wonder if Bio-Med was the right choice even though I truly love science.

Thanks for your input!

Felicia