A pre-med flip-out and now calm. . .

Whew. I might have my ducks in a row for fall and summer now. I thought I did before, but I kept uncovering new problems.

First, Bio 2 was only during the day in fall. Got confirmation today that I don’t have to have ONLY Biology of Organisms. . .I am going to take anatomy & physiology to fulfill that second bio prereq, which IS offered at night. [note: this is a specific thing for me and my target med school. . .may not be true for all.]

Just when that was resolved, the chemistry issue reared its ugly head again. When I was a freshman, I enrolled in a special chemistry for kids in the 5 year bachelors/masters program, which was an accelerated chem 1 & 2 in one semester. It’s been a b*tch to transfer this stupid credit around ever since. I verified with the med school that this was OK to fulfill inorganic chem 1 and 2, so I thought I was good to go. THEN, I realized my CC transcript doesn’t show that course as fulfilling their CHE 1 & 2 courses. I was completely freaked out that I would not be able to enroll in Ochem. Thank goodness I emailed my very calm and rational (and awesome!) advisor, and he said if I just get him my CC transcript, he can mark Chem 1 and 2 as waived. Yay!

Then the last freak-out came when the med school hospital volunteer coordinator didn’t want to interview me. They only have one unit that takes evening volunteers and take no weekend volunteers. They also have no volunteers at their urgent care facility (even though the website says they do.) She was really weird about the whole thing, like if I absolutely insisted on volunteering there, she would interview me, but would I please please please check with other places first. She thought it would be better for me, since I have so much going on. I hate that. Lady, I am a master juggler. I’ll show up for every shift. Don’t worry about me. I thought that was weird for the University hospital in an urban area to essentially turn away a volunteer.