A return to pre-med?

Greetings to all – I am new to this site and the discussions here have been incredibly helpful to me. I am once again considering pursuing an MD or DO. I am 54 years old and I have two BS degrees from a top 25 US public university, majoring first in Bio and then in Acct. At that time, I took all the required pre-reqs, in addition to earning 39 upper level credits in Bio/Pathology, which included 6 credits at the grad level. I also spent a semester volunteering full-time in a research lab. Believing that that my low gpa had put med school out of reach for me, I moved on to pursue Acct. Over the past 30 years, I have worked as a CPA for a top accounting firm (I was a non-traditional hire there in spite of my low gpa) and have held senior level positions, including CFO, at private and public companies. I currently work as a financial consultant.

It would be helpful for me to get a reality check. I make a good living as a financial consultant, but I don’t mind forgoing those earnings for a year or 2, or so (or nine years, or so, if end up in med school). Based upon what I’ve read here, it’s clear that a relatively high score on the MCATs is a must for me. I also believe that I’ll need to optimize my gpa and demonstrate an ability to handle the rigors of a tough academic schedule, which I did not do as an undergrad. I worked quite a few hours back then financing my education, which I won’t have to do now. In terms of optimizing my overall and science gpas, it’s going to require one mighty lift. As an undergrad I earned 186 credits, which includes 60 credits related to Acct. I have read here that DO schools replace grades for retaken classes as opposed to averaging them, so perhaps DO schools may be the best or only possible option open to me.

My current thoughts on how I would proceed at this point are as follows: