A student again and loving it!

Hello Everyone:

From what I’ve read so far, I am really excited about this site!

How did I stumble across OldPreMeds?

I happened to be at a medical school information fair this past Thursday, when an associate dean of a special-masters program referred me to your site; he also recommended that I attend the OldPreMeds conference in June, which I am considering.

So, here is my story: I am 31 years old and quit my full-time job as a financial analyst on December 23, 2011. Why? Because I am going to become a physician.

This will be an uphill battle for me since I was a really poor student in college the first time around (seven years ago). I earned a stellar 2.27 GPA, concentrating in cellular & molecular biology, garnering plenty of W’s to boot. I left school (without a diploma) and set out to find a job. This job turned into a six-year career.

I am now in my first semester back and really enjoying it! I am fully immersed in my classes, which makes a big difference. I am taking Orgo I, Physics I, Molecular Biology Lab, and an upper-level writing course. I expect to have very close to a 4.0 GPA this term.

My plan is to re-take all of the premed requirements plus several upper-level science classes over the next few semesters (spring/summer '12, fall '12, and winter '13). I will take the MCAT in January of 2013 and apply to both special masters programs and medical schools in spring/summer of '13.

My predicament is this: even with a 4.0 over 44 semester hours, my cumulative AMCAS GPA will only rise to 2.61 and my BCPM GPA will only be 2.52.

Based on my research, I believe that it will be quite difficult to get into special masters programs, most of which have a 3.0 GPA minimum. Furthermore, I believe that if I don’t complete one of these programs successfully, my chances of being admitted to medical school are quite low.