Abysmal AMCAS grad GPA a problem???Help!

I have a graduate degree in a non-science field and my graduate GPA is about the same as my undergraduate GPA and only a little less than my BCPM GPA.

However, if I compute into my graduate GPA a course grade for a class I took as a non-degree student (not at my graduate institution), the graduate GPA appears abysmal (3.0)

Does AMCAS care about the graduate GPA, especially in an unrelated subject? Will I be at a disadvantage because of this graduate GPA if the rest of my application is more than decent?

Thanks!

First, AMCAS doesn’t care at all. They just process the applications. It’s the schools that may or may not care.

What are your GPAs? If one class brings your graduate GPA down to a 3.0, it makes me think that your undergrad and BCPM GPA are not much higher than the 3.2ish range (which is okay, but not great).

You may need to consider doing some more upper level science coursework and knocking them out of the park (all A’s), and doing very well on the MCAT depending on your GPAs. You may also need to figure out a way to address your graduate GPA. In general, graduate GPAs don’t help an application much (because anything lower than a B is often considered failing in grad school), however low graduate GPAs CAN hurt your application.

It’s really hard to tell how each individual school will view your situation. In terms of getting an interview, I imagine they will look more at your BCPM GPA and MCAT. The graduate GPA will likely come into play more as they decide whether or not to admit you.

As always, YMMV. It never hurts to call a couple of schools and ask them directly what their opinion is.

My uGrad and BCPM GPAs are in the 3.5 range. I am worried that since grad school is my most recent academic work, that this GPA will reflect poorly on me.