Academic Dismissal

Hi, I am new to this forum, just wanted to get opinions regarding my current status and how to move forward. I’m 25, I attend Brooklyn College (A 4 year City school in NY), it’s a good school, one of the top CUNY schools. I am a sophomore, however after a year of dealing with depression and some issues when I lost my grandmother I got dismissed. My current gpa is under 2, i am actually afraid to look. I got 3 semesters of Ws and WUs, and one F. I am applying for readmission (after 2 semesters off), and am just curious as to what I should do providing I am readmitted.

Will Med Schools be lenient when I rise above all this?

Should I transfer to another school?

Will they be willing to drop the Ws if I get a letter from my shrink.

Just any HELPFUL information you guys can give would be very helpful. PRIOR to this, I was an Ok student, not great but that was due to laziness, I use to get As Bs Cs and one D. Was also in a research program and pretty much was on a good track. (I left research program because they werent paying enough and got a job in a Cardiology office) Sorry If I’m rambling, Thank you for reading.

P.S I am a chem major so most of those Ws were science classes :frowning:

I too flunked out of college but it took me 2 tries and 13 years before I could get admitted to med school(I didn’t matriculate).

1)Will med schools be lenient? No.

2) Should you transfer? Only if you fix what’s broken in your study habits otherwise those issues just follow you everywhere you go.

3)Will they be willing to drop grades if you get a letter from your shrink? NO, and if I were you I wouldn’t mention ANYTHING about any mental health issues (that’s just my personal opinion).

In retrospect, I probably should have transferred but I was stubborn and determmined to prove the Prof that told me I would never be a scientist/doctor wrong.