Advice: English Requirement for Med School

Hi everyone,

This might have been asked previously, so pardon if this is redundant.

The medical schools that I am looking at have minimum of 6-9 sem hours of english requirement.

Unfortunately, most US med schools do not accept TOEFL scores. I took the test and scored 114/120 … but I guess that is besides the point.

Now, I can CLEP out of CompI and then take CompII (and Advanced Composition if I apply to the schools with 9sem hours english requirement) or,

would you suggest to take CompI as well? under the “assumption” that I can score well in verbal section of the MCAT.

Thanks.

Hi Chickbrownie,

This is a good question and I am interested to see how the forum respond. How do universities look at CLEPing non math and science courses such English compostion,humanities, social sciences…

By the way,I assume you got your degree outside the U.S. Am I correct? was it a non-English speaking country?

I have my undergrad degree from Asia ( non-English speaking country) and my masters from Canada( English speaking province). I am yet to find out how the university evaluates my degree …i.e…do I need to take English compostion( I & II) or not…

I hope not …

Thanks

Nik

Nik,

I have an undergrad and postgrad degrees from a non-english speaking country.

In general, I have read that if you want to apply to med school do not CLEP out of any class. I have read on few med school websites where they will not accept CLEP/AP courses for any of the pre-reqs. (Note: Cases like you and me are few. So, the general answer is for common cases.)

At the same time I have read anecdotal examples of people who got into med schools using CLEP credits for few of the pre-reqs … even for courses like Chem and Bio. These students did take higher level courses in those subjects. I suspect these students had enough credits from US university to demonstrate to a US med school about their academic abilities.