advice for 37 yo P.T. re: pursuing medical school

Hi fellow non-traditionals,

I just joined this site today–very comforting to have found others in my situation! I have questions that have probably been addressed on this site somewhere, but a quick search didn’t turn up anything, so I will present my situation to everyone. Maybe someone can diagnose me and recommend treatment options?

Currently, I am a physical therapist, but am interested in becoming a physician. The major obstacles that I can discern are:

1. I am 37 years old ( and my wife and I are hoping to have kids in the next few years)

2. Took prerequisites for med school at a 4 year college greater than 10 years ago.

3. Overall GPA wasn’t very good: 2.76.

4. Prerequisite grades for medical school were sub par–C’s and 2 B’s and 1 A.

5.MCAT was below average in 1995 (score was 20 and M).

At that time (1995) I decided not to pursue medical school because I was advised I was not a competitive candidate. I decided to pursue Physical Therapy and took other prerequisites to become competitive for PT in 1996-1997: microbiology, comparative zoology, psychology, developmental psychology, abnormal psychology, sociology, and statistics at the University of Washington. Biomechanics, anatomy and physiology at Seattle University. (Average grades for these courses were very good As and a B or two. )

I finally got into PT school and graduated with an Masters of Science in Physical Therapy in 1999 and then earned a Clinical Doctorate in Physical Therapy in 2008.

As a PT, clinical experience has included 8 years at public and private hospitals in New York City and two years in private practice.