Advice needed -- 38 Yr old applicant/how would adcoms view this background

Thanks for reading this post!

Situation:

Currently I am a technical systems developer/programmer with a large healthcare provider. I have been involved in IT for the last ten years, and find working in healthcare very rewarding (Clinical Pharmacy Systems are my specialty), but I believe I could help more people and have a greater impact as a medical doctor. I am trying to figure out if it is a realistic goal to pursue my MD at this point, age 38, and how an admissions board would view my entire record. Ideally I would spend the next 2 years accumulating prereq credits, preparing for the MCAT and applying. The Med School matriculation goal would be for Fall 2010.

Degrees:

University of Wisconsin - Madison BA (History/History of Culture; GPA ~3.74)

University of Wisconsin - Madison Law School JD (GPA ~2.5)

Additional college credits (post BA, not including JD):

University of Minnesota - Twin Cities (18 credits math and compsci, average GPA ~2.2)

University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee (30 credits foreign language, economics, mathematics, compsci; average GPA ~3.9)

Also – Misc Community College CompSci credits (18 credits GPA ~3.5)

Discussion:

Yes, it looks like the background of a perpetual student. Yes, I did graduate from law school, and yes I did practice and retire after 1 month of being sworn into the State Bar, but no, the reason was not related to anything like professional sanction or misconduct/ethics violation – the reason was pure distaste for the legal profession (I always seek to finish what I start, so that’s why I did not drop out w/o the degree-- I fought through the distaste – especially from my realization of how frequently unjust, inequitable and absurd outcomes are produced in torts and criminal actions).