Advice on how to back out of volunteer work?

I am seeking advice on how to back out of some long-term volunteer work, but do so gracefully as I will eventually seek an recommendation from this work. I have been volunteering with a health care non-profit abroad for nearly 15 years. When I started, it took little of my time, but as my skills, knowledge, and connections grew, my involvement deepened. I took on more and more responsibility. Now, I help run two of their free clinics. I am away sometimes for weeks at a time. The non-profit is very dependent on me to do things for them mostly because I do all the nitty-gritty work that regular volunteers won’t do. All this volunteering may look great on a resume or application. However, doing so takes away significant time from studying and taking courses, as I cannot take an in-person classes. I have put off taking lots of courses and other projects because of this work.

Given my deep involvement, I, obviously want to get a letter of recommendation from this group, but I also want to back out so I can study for the MCAT and finish repairing my GPA (damaged by so much volunteer work). In particular, I don’t want to offend the “boss lady” who would be writing the recommendation. I “work” directly for her, however. Can anyone suggest ways to tacitly, politely, back out of a position without offending the higher ups, so I can later ask them for a recommendation?

If I was in your shoes, I’d share a version of what you’ve said here with the higher ups. Tell them you need to scale back (or stop) your volunteering commitment so you can fully prepare for the MCAT. Given that it’s in health care, I’m sure they understand the importance.