Advice Requested.

Hi!

I wanted to introduce myself, share a little about me, and get some advice from this forum. I’m a 28-year-old professional, working in Accounting and Finance. During the tax season, I have a second job as a tax site manager. I graduated with a BA in Psychology and minor in Justice and Peace Studies In my undergraduate studies, I took only 1 course in Biology and it did not come with a lab. I have been out of school for 6 years and have recently decided that I want to pursue becoming a psychiatrist. I have done some research and below is what I understood my options to be.

1. Apply to Post-bac program.

Pros: If accepted, this would be a structured program with a cohort and may provide resources that I may not be able to obtain otherwise.

Cons: This program may require a full time schedule, which requires that I stop working. This program has scholarships specific to universities. If I don’t apply to a school that has scholarships or don’t receive external scholarships/grants, I would have to fund the program with my own money.
  2. Get my prerequisites at a community college or university

Pros: I would be able to manage my own schedule (example, take one class at a time).

Cons: I would not have the advice I could be getting from a post-bac program. I would have little structured support system. I still have to fund these classes myself.

Extracurricular activities: Gain experience in a health-related setting to show that I’m serious about medical school.

Other Experiences: Leadership (management) experience and volunteering in various roles at various organizations (I love to volunteer as a way to help out)

After completion of either option, take the MCAT and apply to medical schools.

I don’t know what my psychology gpa is or if that is even applicable in this case. While I know the above, I’m just lost as to what my real next step is. Perhaps the steps I listed above is all that there is to it?