Age poll

So I was trying to use the search function and it looks like nobody has done an age poll in a while. I was just curious what the current crop of OPM’ers look like. I am in my early 30’s and will be mid 30’s by the time I have a chance to matriculate (knock on wood). I know that I have drawn a lot of courage and strength reading the stories of those beginning the journey even later in life then myself.

In reality, I just got off of shift and have time to kill (no classes right now) and am addicted to the site. So I thought I would generate another thread. Hopefully I set up the poll function correctly. I am a total newbie at forum participation.

It is addictive, though I couldn’t tell you why. The limit of my participation in forums and bulletin boards is usually one post and then I never look at them again.

I do more reading than posting.

Heh, I was a wee 25 yo when I began this process, but I knew the “slow and steady” path professed by OPMers would put me in the over-30 group by the time I matriculated… And for the next three weeks, I’m still in the 20-29 group!

So do you advocate “slow and steady” or did you do “fast and furious”?

I would always advocate “slow and steady” over “fast and furious” - there is not one step in this process you can afford to screw up with a potential overload. “S&S” is especially wise if you haven’t taken any pre-reqs. The only drawback in my case was that I went for an SMP because my pre-reqs were too recent for a post-bacc, but by the time I finished everything, my pre-reqs had expired for some schools.

Hi, is there a time limit or “expiration date” for premedical pre-reqs? Does it depend on each school?

• ejhpharmd Said:
Hi, is there a time limit or "expiration date" for premedical pre-reqs? Does it depend on each school?

I would think that it depends on the school...some are fine if it has been a while, some want to see more recent attempts.