Allopathic AND Osteopathic

Is anyone applying to both DO and MD schools? And, is there a thread that covers why some are considering DO schools? There are a few over in SDN, but I hate to read them because there is so much negativity. (I usually post here to get “grown-up” answers!)
Thanks!

I will be applying to both MD and DO schools. As far as I’m concerned, there is no difference between the two.

Granted, this answer is about 5 years out-dated but I applied to both MD and DO schools. I was accepted to my state MD school and several out of state private DO schools. I went where the tuition was cheapest.
My attitude at the time (and still, BTW) was that I could care less about the initials…I just wanted to be a doctor.
Now that I’m a resident, I find many, if not most, feel the same way.
Take care,
Jeff

Megboo,
I am applying to both DO schools and MD schools simply because I want to be a physician–the initials don’t matter to me.
This summer, I completed my final practicum for my family nurse practitioner program at a family practice residency clinic. I had the wonderful opportunity to work with both DO and MD residents and attending physicians. There was absolutely no difference between the two–except for the fact that the DO’s were in demand for their OMT procedures!
Lu

Thanks for your responses! I have a feeling I will be applying to both MD and DO schools in the future, and today I was trying to think why, and unfortunately the main reason is that it gives me more options than applying to MD schools alone (being a non-trad with less than 4.0 and yet-to-be-determined MCAT scores). I don’t live too far from CCOM, nor UofI-Rockford, UIC, Loyola, Rush, UC, Northwestern, or RF for that matter. (All within 1-1.5 hours)