Allow myself to introduce...myself (?!)

(This might get long, so if you have some studying to do, please disregard )

Hey guys, LONG time lurker, first time poster (I think I registered what, a year and a half ago??). I suppose I didn’t think i would come this far, but now, I have no doubts about the path I’m on.

I am currently 39 yo, married for 16 years, with a 9 yo son and a 7 yo daughter. I have been a respiratory therapist for 17 years now. Even during RT school when I was 21, I had seriously considered medical school. My doctor at the time said it wasn’t a good thing because “you take your patients home with you, you worry about them, etc”. In hindsight (after working in the medical field) I realized that physicians don’t hold the monopoly on caring, but being young and impressionable and haven’t even really started the career I had schooled for, I put that dream on hold. Like an itch you can’t scratch, it never really left me. I had stopped/started the process a few more times through the years (much to my wife’s chagrin) to where I am now in my 4th serious consideration. I had never been this far before though, actually taking the classes I need instead of just dreaming about it.

I was going part-time in the evenings at a local CC (to fit my work schedule) in 2011 when I had the glorious fortune of being laid-off from my RT job at a DME. After some serious discussions with my wife, she went back to work full-time (she is an RT as well, ironically for a competitor to my old work, LOL) and I started classes full-time to accelerate the process. I have been blessed by such a supportive and understanding lady and she is fully onboard with the dream as well.