Am I crazy? Should I find something else?

First, sorry for putting in a lot of details.

I’m looking for some practical advice. Here’s my situation:

I turn 40 this year. I’ve always been interested in medicine. I met my wife working as a CNA in a nursing home. I was an intermediate EMT for 6 or 7 years before I moved to another state. Many of my family members are in medicine (my Mom was a nurse and an EMT). I thought about being a doctor when I was younger, but decided to pursue computers instead.

I love science and healthcare in general, and I love helping people. I’m not worried about staying current, since I’m already OCD about that in my current profession. For me, the primary motivation would be to help others, and I have a long term dream of opening up clinics in more remote areas to provide that service.

I’ve been in the computer software realm for nearly 20 years. I’m making 150k a year as a consultant, but am REALLY tired of the environment I find myself in. I’m already working long, demanding, and stressful hours in my current position. They’re not as long as what residents typically do, but they’re more stressful that what I dealt with as an EMT. I’m likely going to be getting laid off in the near future and will be taking a pay cut, probably down tot he 100 to 120k area.

I’ve got a bachelors of business management in 2000, and know I could handle the business side of the medical world. I also know I don’t freak out at the sight of blood. I’ve dealt with many different situations as an EMT such as full codes, automobile accidents, and gunshot wounds, and I did very well in my training to become an EMT (I was always the top in my class).

My software work in last six years has focused heavily in the healthcare industry around EMR’s, medical cabinets, and hospital billing and payments. I deeply understand HIPAA, HL7, NCPDP, and other infrastructure stuff around healthcare, which I think would add to the overall healthcare community.