Am I crazy to consider applying now?

Hi all, I’d like your opinion. To give you background:

I am 26 years old (will be 27 in the fall) and have just decided that I want to apply to med school. I skipped my junior year of high school and entered college when I was 17. After my sophomore year, I took 2 years off to serve as a missionary for my church. My undergrad is in biomedical engineering (biology classes + mechanical engineering), I graduated in 2006. My overall GPA was 3.85. I have been working full time in a medical device industry full-time as an engineer for 4 years. While working full-time, I also went to school part-time and graduated in 2008 with my MBA. I graduated with a 4.0. I am married and have a 2 month old baby. I’ve always kept a busy schedule and have always managed to keep a healthy balance between work/school and family. I went into undergrad intending to go to med school, but when I graduated I didn’t feel it was the right time.

Would it be totally unrealistic and naive to try to take the MCAT in August and apply to the Fall 2011? One other thing: I have not taken organic chemistry but will take it this coming school year. I would really like to do this, as I am not a “traditional” applicant and would like to start as soon as possible.

Your thoughts/advice/suggestio ns would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

• In reply to:
Would it be totally unrealistic and naive to try to take the MCAT in August and apply to the Fall 2011? One other thing: I have not taken organic chemistry but will take it this coming school year. I would really like to do this, as I am not a "traditional" applicant and would like to start as soon as possible.