Am I crazy?

Hi everyone,

I have been lurking for a while and finally found the courage to post. You all are so inspirational! So, here is my story. I am 40. Becoming a doctor has been a life-long ambition. Had a few adventures along the way. I graduated way back in 1996 with a B.S. in Chemistry, minor in Bio. GPA ~3.6; major 3.7. Completed all my prereqs and then decided to go the Ph.D. route. Got into a very competitive program. Along the way marriage and two kids came along. Decided to wait a few years so that I could be a dad to my children. They are preens now and prefer video games to riding on daddy’s back. I guess you can say I have hit mid-life pretty hard. A recent death of someone I had known for a while hit me pretty hard. Life is short and my wife says that ever since she has known me (~20 years), all I ever wanted to do was go to med school. So, giving it a second look. Perhaps not very realistic. What I have going for me is that I have done medical research all my professional life. However, I do not remember much of my undergraduate work. I am sure I can pick-up pretty quickly though. Did I say I have a full-time job, mortgage, and bills? So, what do I have here? Can it be done?

I am thinking 6 months of MCAT prep time and taking the exam in June/July of next year and a September redo if I have to. I hope schools will accept my undergrad grades. Volunteering is not an option. Hopefully, my work in the field of medical research will help. Am I being too optimistic?

Some days I feel like I am too old to do this. I am pretty positive that if I don’t do it next year, I will never do it again. Don’t want to live with the regret of not trying.

Thanks and good luck!

I think you are definitely crazy. Here’s why… you’re asking a bunch of crazy people whether or not you’re crazy.

I don’t think you’re crazy. I think your plan is sound. I’d be optimistic as well. Just have an answer for “why a doctor? Why now?”

Welcome aboard the crazy train!