Am I crazy?

Hi there,

So, here I am thinking about beginning course work toward a medical degree. I am also contemplating if I am off my proverbial rocker!

I have an earned PhD in education…yeah, really! However, I have had to take the last two years off to care for a child born with some major issues; he has had 5 surgeries in his short life. During that time, I have come to know an incredible number of people who have dedicated their life to helping kids like mine get well and have successful, fulfilling lives. They, along with my child, are my inspiration. Although I have significant education already, I do not feel that, I cannot purposefully help people with my current degree.

That said, I recently turned 37 and have 3 children and a husband (who is 110% supportive of this idea). I also have a significant amount of student debt from my three degrees. If I start on this path, I would need to return to school as an undergrad to complete the required science classes, do the MCAT, etc. My biggest fears, of course, are the toll this path may take on three kids (who are all under 4) and the additional student debt I would have to incur.

Am I crazy to even consider this path? I would love input from others!

You have your husband’s support and that’s all that matters.

Debt is real but you can make enough to pay it off if you live below your means, now, during, and after school.

I’m no help with the kids except to work hard in med school and pick a specialty that’ll give you the time to spend with your family and give you job satisfaction…at least that’s the dream.