An introduction and some questions..

Hi folks! I happened upon this site while searching for non-traditional medical students in Google. I’ve been reading through some of the posts and figured I could use some of the other members’ sage advice. But before I get to the questions, a brief introduction of myself seems in order.

So without further ado, my name is Dustin and I am 28. I am married and my wife and I have a beautiful 11 month old girl. I graduated from the University of Hawaii last year with a BA in Psychology (cumulative GPA of 3.36) I’ve been working as a workers compensation claims adjuster since graduation and with each passing day, the urge to go back to school to fulfill the pre-med prerequisites grows. I think this has partly to do with the fact that I get to read hundreds upon hundreds of medical reports, SOAP notes, and the like and I think to myself, this is what I really want to do. Recently, I’ve contemplated going back to school even though I just recently graduated (It took me 9 years to get my BA, by the way.)

So I guess my first question is, is it really the kiss of death for getting in to med school if I took most, if not all of the pre-med classes at a local community college? If so, why would this be? To me this seems somewhat backward as I’ve spent half of my academic career at a community college and IMHO, the quality of education was a lot better. Add to that the fact that most CC teachers did not grade on a curve, while most of my uni teachers did.