Annoying Assumptions-Vent!

So, I’m in Physics today and a fellow student approaches me asking what I think of Physics. I answer honestly that I don’t love Physics, never have, but I hold my own, work hard, etc. Well, it annoys me that this person then asks, “Nursing major?” To which I answer “No, I’m premed.” To which this person answers he is also. Okay, great, we’re in the same boat, yadda yadda yadda. Nothing is wrong with nursing, don’t get me wrong, but why would that be the first assumption? Because I’m an older student? (So is this fellow student by the way!) Because I’m a woman? Even more maddening. So, that annoyed me first. Like I said, nothing wrong with Nursing at all I just am very surprised that this person would even think a nursing major would need this type of physics class and that I somehow must be a nursing major for whatever reason.