Another newbie saying hello

Hi everyone!! I’m so glad that I found this board. It is very inspiring to see people my age and older pursuing the dream of medical school. A little about me…I’m 34, mother of 1 son, age 7. I’m currently in my 4th year of undergrad at UC Santa Barbara (Religious Studies major) and just recently decided to start taking the prereqs for med school. If all goes well I hope to begin med school in 2006. I’ve decided not to tell any of my family or friends for fear of being carted off to an insane asylum, so I’ll plug away at the prereqs and tell everybody after I’ve been accepted, so at least it seems more real. I am technically supposed to graduate with my BA this June but I got an approval to delay my graduation until my prereqs are done, that way I don’t have to find a post bacc program. Well here I am…very happy to be with you guys on this long journey.

Welcome! You’ll find a good set of friends here for advice and support. Good luck with those pre-req’s.

Welcome! Just wanted to pop in here quick and tell you you’ve come to a good place for resources and support/encouragement…and the jokes are good here too!
It sounds like you’ve got a good plan worked out. Please keep us posted on how your post-bacc goes and if you have any questions, OPMs is a great place to ask. Good luck!

Hi and welcome to OPM,
I wish you well on your journey. It was a great idea to delay your graduation so you can finish your pre-med requirements, although they may ask you why it took you so long to complete your four year degree. But you have a good excuse so don’t worry too much about it.
Make sure you are getting your clinical volunteer experiences in so you can have a great application when the time comes.
Good luck

Welcome welcome! I love this board for exactly that reason… I don’t want to share my dreams with everyone, yet I need a good amount of support. SO, share here, and surprise everyone else when you have been accepted to medical school!

Hey Van,