Another newbie seeking advice

Hi all,

Thanks for providing such a great forum.

After reading back a couple pages I know you get bombarded with these types of posts but I figured what’s one more

I thought I would try to briefly share my info and hope for any advice I can get. Here goes:

I am currently a high school mathematics teacher. I recently returned to teaching after 2 years in a PhD program (educational policy/measurement and quantitative methods). I was hoping the return to the classroom would help reaffirm my fading beliefs in education, but I’m finding myself being attracted to a health career as a way to maintain a service oriented career as well as one that is intellectually engaging.

I have a B.S. in mathematics with a minor in physics. (Graduated 2004)

My undergraduate GPA was 3.73 although it may move downward because I retook an upper-level math class I failed and subsequently earned a 4.0

I’ve taken the following science courses: one semester of bio, one semester of chem (and AP chem in HS), a bunch of math, physics, and statistics.

After including all of the courses I’ve taken - grad and undergrad - here are my recalculated GPAs: non-science overall 3.93; science: 3.35 (the one class I had to retake dropped it below a 3.5).

I now know that I need to really boost my science GPA. My GPA in the required med school prereqs is much higher - 3.85, but I didn’t do as well in a couple upper level math and physics courses. Partly because the content was more difficult, but mostly because I started to lose interest during my Junior and Senior year.

I live in MI, so there no formal post-bac programs, but I could take courses at UofM or MSU. Also, all of my undergrad courses are more than 5 years old - not sure if this means I have to retake all the prereqs.