Any advice from you is appreciated.

I am a 27 year old Stanford graduate. I have a 2.4 GPA. I tried to take some pre-med courses as an undergraduate but I just drowned amidst my personal problems and failed the same chemistry class twice, while barely getting by with C’s in biology and in one calc class. I never took upper level courses, physics, or any labs. I have done some pharmaceutical research since i graduated and am now working in a local clinic to get some experience as a medical assistant. I am wondering if I should take all of my pre-reqs all over again (it’s going to be 10 years since I took basic biology) or if I should take some upper level courses and do well in them. I am also wondering if I could take the pre-reqs at a local community college (i have to work and already have loans to pay from undergrad) or if i should take them at a 4 year university, or if i should do a post-bac. I don’t know which would be best. Any advice you have for me would be greatly appreciated. I’ve been feeling like I can’t do this, but there’s a small voice in my head that tells me not to give up. Thanks so much for your support!

Fabi -

With your GPA (and the age of your pre-reqs), I’m going to say that your best option is to retake all of the pre-reqs AND do very well in them (mostly A’s). If possible, you should take them at a 4 year university.

A formal post-bacc would be something to look into. However, you may find that many post-baccs require a GPA of 3.0 or higher to get accepted into their program. Also - formal post-baccs are typically VERY expensive (more than taking classes on your own). The flexibility of scheduling courses in a formal program may not work well if you need to continue working as well.

Depending on where you are - some universities have “extension” programs where you can take the pre-reqs for cheaper than at the main campus.