Any EMTs?

Was wondering if anyone has had any success working as an EMT during pre-med. Because of similarities to my current job, I’m giving some thought to picking up an EMT-P certification to supplement living expenses while I am taking classes. Does anyone have any experiences, thoughts, or insights? Thanks.

I have a B license. I had considered going up to P, but decided it wouldn’t be worth the stress of carrying 6 extra credit hours for two years. As for working as an EMT while doing premed, it keeps me sane. I love it.

I am a Paramedic. Currently I work for a combination fire/ems agency. The only problem with paramedic work that I am running into is that they often run on a rotating shift schedule so it can be difficult to attend class full time. If you are only doing it part-time it is a great gig while going to school. I am actually having to go work as a tech so I can attend school, but I am still going to try and do part-time paramedic work to keep my skills up.

That being said do not take it lightly. With EMT-B and EMT-I you can get by on a couple month course to get you up to speed. However, if you decide to become a paramedic it is quite extensive and you really need experience. My drug box is quite large with some pretty powerful stuff in it. You can see everything a doctor might see in the hospital and you will have to manage it with the tools available on the bus. It is great experience to be able to run full codes by yourself and fix arrhythmias and airway issues. Just make sure you are ok with bad weather, adverse conditions, and lot’s of screaming. When you are on the side of the road upside down in a car trying to do a face to face intubation on a conscious patient with the family sitting there screaming at you, that is when you earn your money!

Good Luck. Let me know if you have any other questions.