Any Moms out there?

Are there any other pre-med or med-school moms out there? I have two kids almost 3 and 2 and I am planning to start pre-med in the Fall. Would love to chat with others in my situation.

Welcome to OPM!
We’re here! My kids are 2 and 7 now! There are lots of moms/parents here!
You might want to check out MomMD, a site dedicated to supporting women and mothers in medicine.

There are lots of moms here! I came to post about Mommd.com but Selina beat me to it!
I have 2 boys, ages 3 and 6. I’m working on my bachelors right now. I’m in the early stages so I’m working on getting the pre-reqs to the pre-meds out of the way! And all the general classes.
-Christy

Cool. I found this site through mommd.com. I am just trying to get as much info as I can about the whole experience. WHere do you live? I am in CA. I have a bachelors degree so I just need to take my science classes.

Hey! I plan to go to AZCOM beginning in 2007. How are you doing getting through med school w/ 2 kids? What is your specialty? I want to be an OB/GYN.

Me? I’m in Missouri.
And I got my coursework done before I had kids, and worked at a couple of different careers (cytogenetic tech, research coordinator) before I applied to med school.
I start classes in August, so I don’t yet know how it will be having kids and going to school. I already work, though, so I figure I’ll do fine once school starts since I actually WANT to be there!
I don’t know what I’d like to do…I love women’s health and peds issues, but I worry that it would be too heartbreaking sometimes. I think I’d be a good surgeon or pathologist… We’ll see. That’s what rotations are for, right?