Appalachian Trail thru-hiker turned MD/PhD Hopeful- looking for guidance!

Hi everyone! I’m a new binge-listener to the Old Premed podcast and am so grateful to have found this community because I recently experienced one of those serendipitous moments of clarity that I want to pursue a career as an MD/PhD. I have a strong background in basic research, but want to work more translationally with patients and to directly see the impact of the research I’m doing. I am currently studying and planning to take the MCAT in April of 2019 with the intention of applying to MD/PhD programs in June 2019. I feel okay with my academic standing, I graduated in 2017 with a 3.7 GPA (cumulative and science) with a degree in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology. I just started my MCAT studying and got a 501 on the Next Step Diagnostic test. Now, I feel more comfortable knowing the content I need to prioritize in terms of re-learning. I am currently continuing on my research-heavy path as a full-time research technician at Tufts University.

I was inspired to pursue a career as an MD/PhD when I received exemplary care after shattering my ankle that ended an Appalachian Trail thru-hike this spring. When reflecting on all of the people who helped me get off the trail, to the hospital, through my surgery, and now well into recovery, I am so grateful. It planted the seed that has made me want to use my energy to care for others while tackling the important research questions that will leave a lasting impact on the field of medicine. Now what I need is to figure out how much I need to do in order to have a strong application….