Applying without Clinicals

Hi everyone !

So I am studying for the mcat (for a June test date) and I will still have biochem to take in July.

Once my classes are over I plan to either work for 911 EMS or do transport. This will be my only thing going on in my life at the time until I get admitted to med school.

My question is for everyone- do I apply this year and in activities write “expected hours” or apply next year?

Do you have any clinical hours? Volunteer or paid?

If not, medical schools will wonder if you understand what you are getting yourself into. Maybe you can explain that COVID took your clinical experience away in the application but that is still a rough look.

How is the rest of your application? Stats? EC? Shadowing? What type of schools are you applying to? There are a lot of details that need filling here in order to give you any meaningful advice.

Thanks for responding!

My cGpa=3.4 , sGpa =3.7 I have 122 hours PICU volunteer before covid

Fall of 2020 I took an EMT class and got certified this past January

I have 232 non volunteer hours

I have 134 hours shadowing an ICU pulmonologist 22 with a plastic surgeon , 10 with a ortho surgeon and 12 hours shadowing ED physician (only one shift of each due to covid)

I just applied for 911 and transport to start in July.

No research

I plan to apply to mid tier MD and some DO

Mcat score (unknown June test date) I know this is a big deciding factor but let’s say I scored a 507 just for the sake of this scenario

1 Like