ARNP TO MD

Well I am new to the site and it really does seem to be my kind of place. Like all of you I have my own story. I was maybe the poorest student I knew. I graduated high school 1990. I was at the bottom of my class. I had very poor learning skills. I was the first person in my family to ever attend college. I think it is important to be honest so I will just tell you I was kicked out of college three times in between 1991 and 1993. I didn’t understand the value of an education and I didn’t have a real goal for attending college. Surprisingly I did return to college in 1996. At that time I just wanted an education so I could make a better living. I won’t bore you with how many hoops I had to jump to get back into school. I did return with a plan to become a RN as I wanted to be able to help people them rather than hurt them. In my previous life I was a collection agency manger. It was more title than anything else but I was good at getting merchants to let our company collect their past due money and I was good at getting people to pay. I just hated almost every day (of those seven years.) When I went back to the local Community College in 96 I soon found I had extreme problems. You see I didn’t know how to learn. I could not write a paragraph and I lacked any subject that came easy. I limped by and got Cs in Chemistry (5hrs), Microbiology (somehow skipped biology) and Anatomy and Physiology I. I had to take all of the lower noncredit classes for both English and Math so I could learn the basics. I did become an RN after about four years at Community College. This gave me a much improved financial picture. About a year after beginning work a friend came in one day and said it was time I get moving. I really valued this friends’ opinion as she was working to become a ARNP (Nurse practitioner). It was at that point that I started on line distance education classes for a university that was two and ½ hours away. I was working towards my bachelors degree in nur