Artist considering a change

Greetings,

I am an artist who sold his first sculpture 20 years ago as an undergraduate. My wife and I have a business wherein I do large and small sculpture and decorative metals commissions for the public and private sectors, jewelry, and occasionally have classes in our classroom. I have my terminal degree (MFA 94) from a well respected private school in South Bend IN, and my GRE scores back then were 620 verbal/640quant/630 analytic. I was happy with them at the time considering I had very little science/math as an undergrad. I don’t have a question, I just want to toot my horn…just kidding. My bad humor comes out when I am nervous-yes, even posting anonymously to a forum.

Here is the question: similar as my basic question is to all the other newbie posts, I feel different enough to wonder, ‘how do I fit into the culture of medicine?’

Some more background:

I am 40 yrs old, haven’t been in a classroom in 14 years except to teach, and am concerned about the perception that my current career and the education related to it is considered just so much fluff in the face of science. I have a brother who is a DO from KCOM, and I remember clearly, at his post graduation, the comment he made to me about how it is never too late to pursue a medical degree (he had a classmate who was around 40 at the time).

I am meeting with him this weekend to discuss this desire of mine, and glean his appraisal of my prospects. My wife supports me whatever my choice. I face an uphill battle with financing, and I will have to continue my business, at least thru undergraduate work, as there aren’t a whole lot of places looking for 40 yo artists.

I welcome any comments, and thank you in advance.