Ashamed, Hopeful, and definitely in need of guidance

Hello everyone,

After much trolling and reading of others with low gpa and screwed up postbaccs (like me) that eventually made it into medical school, I’m gonna bare it all lol.

I am a 30year old female that started this med school journey 7years ago. I did not decide to start on this road until my junior year of college. And even then, the decision was based mostly on fear of being an “underachiever” (read the immigrant’s dilemma of justifying parents’ sacrifice of abandoning everything known for a better future in the land of plenty. Thus a bachelor’s degree is certainly not enough. One can, should, must do better than parents).

Unfortunately, my undergrad cum gpa was 2.96 and I graduated with a B.S. in Medical Technology (Lab Science. I’m the labrat that processes, analyzes, interpretes, and puts out data from clinical specimens. My favorite dept is microbiology). My 2006 MCAT score was 26S (11V,8B,7P). I was a lost, desperate child after my first woeful attempt at med school app (treated it like undergrad app) and jumped on the first postbacc that accepted me (the deadline had passed for others) without pausing to think.