Back again after 2 year break

Hi All,

I’ve made a return to this forum after being away for 2 years. Back then I was planning to pursue a post bacc program but my finances weren’t in good order. However, this doctor thing is growing inside me like a beast and I can’t contain it anymore. Now, my finances are in good shape and I’m able to have a go at a post-bacc program full time. However, one thing remains. I don’t have any clinical, research, or volunteering exposure. I see most post-baccs want about 6 months of this as criterion for admission. I’ve been working in finance for the past 13 years and haven’t taken the time to get with it. But now that I am more seriously looking into post-bacc programs I want to get involved in volunteering. There are plenty of opportunities to do so at the local hospitals in NYC.

Does anyone have advice on how to find research assistant positions? There aren’t any at the hospitals I’m looking at. Don’t know any professors that I can call. But I would like to help out with routine research functions as another way to bolster my application.

As a side note, I’m 40 years old, have a BA in Psych and an MBA in finance. Failed my first bio and chem classes in college so gave up on being a doctor and changed major to Psych. But that was when I was an immature 19 year old. The doctor bug never dies it just lies dormant. I’ve since taken Calc 1, 2, 3, and differential equations just to prove I’m not stupid like I used to think I was.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Joe

Hi Joe, and welcome back!