Back for Postbac, thoughts?

Greetings, I am glad to be in your company.

I’m a former bio major pre-med who switched to liberal arts after organic I. Now, 5 years later, I have come to question the wisdom of that decision. After graduating with a BA and working in the private sector for three years, I still have the desire to go for the MD. I am just now realizing that I only have one life. I don’t want to have any regrets.

I have mentally decided to go for it again, now I am just waiting for the summer 13 semester to roll around so I can dive in! I am married, no kids, and I do work full time as the primary breadwinner (hoping my wife picks up some work soon so I can focus on studying a little more). Anyway, I have 6 classes, by my estimation, to complete to fulfill the premed prereqs:

Stats, Calc, Phys I & II, Organic II, Bio II (I’ve already taken anatomy I & II, microbiology, biology I, and gen chem I & II).

My current job is pretty flexible-- I work as a claims adjuster and can schedule my own appointments. While still working 40+ hours a week, is two classes a semester possible? I was thinking:

Summer: Stats & Bio 2

Fall: Calc and Phys I

Spring: Phys II & Organic II

Too much?

Your thoughts, please.

Possible but not advisable. Look at it this way, what if you will only be allowed to apply to med school once and after that never again. You have to give it EVERYTHING you’ve got and trying to plow through in three semesters with a job is just not the best approach. You might be able and if you are then God bless you for that. I would say the only way I would advise someone to do this is if they have a track record of a exceptionally high GPA and work ethic.

• croooz Said: