Bringing up overall GPA?

I know I’ve read about people doing badly in college, and then eventually going on to become a doctor. I have no idea how they do it though.

I graduated right around a 3.0. My science GPA is better, a hair over 3.5, but I’ve been doing the math, and I don’t know how to bring up the average to a ~3.4. Even if I take another 10 undergrad generic classes, with all A’s, that still only brings me up to a 3.2.

Taking upper level science classes to bring it up seems like suicide. One B or C could negate the entire endeavor.

Just feeling kind of low at this point. I’ve been working hard, but am falling into a “not attainable” sort of mood. Being 45, I just don’t feel I have the time or resources to do this another couple of years.

Just had to vent.

• jimi44 Said:
I know I've read about people doing badly in college, and then eventually going on to become a doctor. I have no idea how they do it though.

I graduated right around a 3.0. My science GPA is better, a hair over 3.5, but I've been doing the math, and I don't know how to bring up the average to a ~3.4. Even if I take another 10 undergrad generic classes, with all A's, that still only brings me up to a 3.2.

Taking upper level science classes to bring it up seems like suicide. One B or C could negate the entire endeavor.

Just feeling kind of low at this point. I've been working hard, but am falling into a "not attainable" sort of mood. Being 45, I just don't feel I have the time or resources to do this another couple of years.

Just had to vent.

"Many people complain about the weather but nobody does anything about it" attributed to mark twain

In many ways you CAN'T impact an overall GPA that is based on an old, bad, undergraduate degree. So, stop focusing on it.

Instead, focus on a new post-bacc GPA, which will be reported separately in both AMCAS and AACOMAS applications. That you can do something about.

And also remember Rule 6: the MCAT is your friend!