Can I repair my GPA?

Hi all! I’m working my way toward med school. I’ve got a bachelor’s in chemistry (graduated 2004) with a crappy GPA (2.6). A lot going on in college that led to this, because honestly I am a good student and my hard work/work ethic has been demonstrated by my five year career as a nutritional supplements formulator. I also do volunteering at the hospital and the local animal shelter.

Problem is, my grades as not going to get me into med school. Just took the MCAT and waiting on the results now. Without doing a formal post-bac program, can I go back to school and retake classes to boost my GPA? Does this work?

I’ve read in other forums that this doesn’t work but I don’t see how it WOULDN’T help the adcom to see that I can indeed do well in school and that things have changed for me.

And on that note, why are my grades still so important when I graduated so long ago and I have a career!!! This drives me nuts!

Thanks all for your input.

If you apply DO they ave a policy of grade replacement so that will help alot when you retake. Also schools will look at what have you done lately when making a decision. As I am apllying right now I really don’t know how true it is, but I know many folks on here in similar situations who are now in med-school.

Although Baileypup is right regarding grade replacement, 4 years of a less than 3.0 avg will take a lot of redoing.

Why are grades important? Because MCAT tests critical thinking, but not your ability to perform well with a very heavy academic load. So instead of “fixing” the old gpa, think about demonstrating your ability to excell with a heavy academic schedule studying advanced science courses. Think about taking things you did not have the opportunity to take before, perhaps mainly in biology: genetics, molecular biology,microbiology, anatomy, physiology

and perhaps: psychology, behavioral development