Career Change as a Reapplicant

Hi,

I am 25 and have worked in the software industry for about 2.5 years. Also, I am currently studying for a Master’s in Software Engineering (SE) where I will graduate in Spring 2018. Despite all this, I am considering reapplying for medical school after listening to the OldPreMeds podcast.

My undergrad was in Electrical Engineering, but I did pre-med simultaneously (all the required courses for Texas medical schools). Ended with a 3.6 GPA. I did apply in 2013 but was most likely screened away due to my MCAT verbal reasoning score of 8. I’ve taken the MCAT twice, 27 the first time, and 29 the second time.

I am looking to apply in 2018, and plan to take Kaplan to prep for the new MCAT in 2017. Also, I will look into volunteering and shadowing experiences next year. I would love to apply in 2017, but I have learned rushing medical applications is worse than taking it steady.

I am very close to finishing my Master’s in SE and my company pays for it, so logically I would like to finish it.

Some questions I have

1. Since it’s technically my 3rd time taking the MCAT, are my chances of getting in slimmer? Is everything riding on my next MCAT score?
  2. Should I retake any courses? A post-bacc?
  3. Does completing a MS in Software Engineering help/hurt my chances?

Scores

3.6 undergrad (engineering + pre-med)

4.0 grad (engineering, may drop to 3.8 when I graduate)

27, 29 MCAT
  1. You should definitely prep for this test like it was one of your last shots. Your previous scores aren’t terrible, they just happen to be below the mean of those that matriculate. You could very well have been picked up for school with a 27 or 29 depending on the school and the rest of your package… I would shoot to be in the 75th percentile or better to increase your chances. No idea what that is on the new MCAT.