Career Path in Health Care - Decision Making Advice Wanted :-)

Hi Everyone, I am going to spare you the details but I have been exploring medical school and a health care career path now for the past 3 years. I graduated with an undergrad in Industrial Design, focusing on med tech and assistive technology. Burnout from my start-up life brought me to medicine and interest in preventative, medical technology, and my athletic career to ortho and rehab. Then burnout during my post-bacc had me questioning the medical school career path.

However I realized in my last, and current position, that I want a career that can provide variety (admin/research) with one-on-one patient care (something I am currently missing from my current research administrative position). I’ve shadowed about 5 different specialties some energize me more than others, PTs and Dieticians in both inpatient and outpatient settings. I can see myself as either a PT or MD (I’ve eliminated dietitian).

My personal long-term career goals are to:
• Improve the time it takes for research to get put into practice (translational research - think STTR, SBIR, NCATS, i-Corps)
• Improve preventative medicine, public health and policy
• Start a private practice or health related business

A few concerns I have about medical school that I would like advice on are:

1. Finances – I’m still in dept from my undergrad and pursuing a start-up after my BSci.
  2. Pre-requisites – I still have some pre-reqs I would need that cost time and money however I have been exploring some of the programs that don’t have specific course requirements and tuition reimbursement. Are there other programs similar to University of Michigan that accept other types of experiences other than coursework?