Chemistry I

I am sure you all remember my deep fears going into Calculus I. However, in retrospect, the regents Algebra Course I took in 1976-1977 was an excellent preparation, and it took a lot of work, but I was able to grasp the equations and concepts with that little background.

I am really frightened about taking Chemistry I at the college level. I was an early admissions student to college in 1978, and consequently - I HAVE NEVER HAD HIGH SCHOOL CHEMISTRY. I am scared to death that I really need “pre chem” to take chem.

Thoughts? Ideas? Suggestions?? If I am accepted to Post Bacc, I need to be ready for this, and I need to start prepping NOW!!!

I had a good chemistry class in high school. When I took chemistry in college in a good program for getting into medical school from, chemistry started at point zero. The fact I came in with a good background in chemistry did help, and makes it hard for me to judge if it could have been done with no starting knowledge of chemistry, but lacking chemistry knowledge shouldn’t hurt you too much. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not optimal. But it’s unlikely to be a situation where your prof will skip topics 1-10 because you’ve seen them in high school.

My suggestion would be to pick up a basic book (not a textbook, just a book) about chemistry and read it cover-to-cover. I’m a fan of Idiot’s Guides. I’ll tell you right now that IGs do make mistakes here and there that a seasoned chemist will pick out, but don’t worry about it. Your goal is to just gain a wide exposure. That way when you hear “chemical species” and “molecule” and “ion” on day one your head won’t be spinning. Also, don’t be afraid to send an e-mail to the prof before the first class to introduce yourself and ask if you should be concerned about your lack of background. This will be helpful later if you need help.